SMTX 4 All

SMTX for All

The City Council identified Workforce Housing as one of five strategic initiatives for two years in a row.  In order to address this initiative a Housing Task Force has been formed to assist the City Council Workforce Housing Committee in developing a strategic action plan aimed at addressing the housing needs in San Marcos.  The task force will work in tandem with City Staff and local stakeholders, using current data from the recently completed San Marcos Housing Needs Assessment and Housing Choice Survey to: 

  • Expand Opportunities for Housing

  • Preserve and Enhance Existing Housing Stock 

  • Leverage Community and Regional Partners, and

  • Quantify and Meet the Housing Needs of Current and Future Residents

The final action plan is expected in the Fall of 2019 and will be considered for implementation by the Council Committee and eventually the full City Council and public at large.  The task force will meet a minimum of once every three months.  Meetings are open to the public and community input sessions will be scheduled between May and September 2019.

City Council Workforce Housing Committee Members

  • Lisa Prewitt, Place 1
  • Melissa Derrick, Place 6
  • Saul Gonzales, Place 2

Meeting Schedule

Task Force Members

  • Chair: Laura Dupont, Corridor Title
  • Vice Chair: Gloria Salazar, El Centro
  • Ramika Adams, Calaboose Museum
  • Melissa Nicewarner Daly, HomeAid
  • Andrew Fernandez, SMCISD
  • Dr. Thomas Longoria, Texas State
  • Ruben Garza, Southside
  • Will Holder, Ret. Trendmaker Homes
  • Michael Nolen, McNabb & Co.
  • Ryan Pearl, Amazon
  • Roland Saucedo, Neighborhood Representative
  • John Schawe, Frost Bank
  • Jack Seaborne, Seaborne Architects
  • Albert Sierra, SM Housing Authority
  • Dr. Chris Smith, Texas State
  • Caitlyn Strickland, Hays County
  • Scott Turner, Brookfield
  • Dr. Monica Valadez, SMCISD
  • Robert Watts, Habitat for Humanity