City Council

City Council Meetings

First and third Tuesdays of each month

  • 3:00 p.m. - City Council Work Session and Executive Session*
  • 6:00 p.m. - City Council Regular Meeting *
  • City Hall
    City Council Chambers
    630 E Hopkins
    San Marcos, TX 78666

Email the City Council


  1. Mayor

    Jane Hughson

    Jane Hughson
  1. Place 1
    Maxfield Baker

    Maxfield Baker Portrait
  1. Place 2

    Saul Gonzales

    Picture of Council Member Saul Gonzales
  1. Place 3
    Alyssa Garza

  1. Place 4

    Shane Scott 

  1. Place 5
    Mark Gleason
  1. Place 6

    Melissa Derrick

    Melissa Derrick

The San Marcos City Council is composed of a Mayor elected at-large by the people for a 2-year term and 6 Council Members elected at-large for staggered 3-year terms. Regular City Council elections are held on the general election day in November.


The Council enacts policies, adopts ordinances and resolutions, establishes the annual budget to provide services to the public, and sets the city tax rate, and water, electric and wastewater rates for San Marcos.

The City Council operates under the City Charter adopted by the citizens of San Marcos.